Title page – symmetrical and asymmetrical

Posted: October 21, 2012 in layout, oblig04, Uncategorized, week 8
Tags: , , ,

This assignment should be done on the computer, using any layout software of your choice.
Create a title page for a recipe book of your choice – it does not have to be based on an existing one.

  1. Set the text for the title, author and publisher and design a title page in both symmetrical and asymmetrical formats. Use serif type for the symmetrical versions, and sans-serif for the asymmetrical designs. Do at least six versions of each, working through them in detail. Be sure to pay attention to the type style and the type size. Use the same visual in all your layouts, so that the difference becomes clear when changing the type and layout.
  2. Consider the use of type and spacing in each version and pay attention to the grouping of information. For example, is the title of the book more important than the name of the author? Do you think the type should be more prominent than the visual? Make notes of your findings in each version.
  3. Choose your favourite layout of symmetrical and asymmetrical formats respectively. Now make one version where you combine both formats into one.
  4. Hand in your layouts as high-res PDFs and remember to include a write-up of your findings.

Title page of a book is almost like the cover of a book but simpler and is the page often after the cover and the recto of its verso known as the title leaf.  (That was a running sentence!)  It usually contains the title of the book, its author and name, year and place of publication.

As the task described, I was to make some title pages using symmetrical and asymmetrical styles. It was fun to use  the asymmetrical style as I was able to experiment a lot. A lot of freedom where to place the elements and make changes to the types used. On the other hand, I was very much limited when I started thinking for the symmetrical style. After making the first one, I was stuck and thought I couldn’t find more compositions. Of course, I did manage although not that creative but I believe if I am to give it more time, I will be able to find new ways to compose a symmetrical style title page. The third part of the task was to combine the two styles in which I was unsure on how to do it. Even after looking at the example on the book. I may come back to this article when I find the answer. I did try one composition…see the gallery!  Regarding the types: Everytime I change the type, I needed to adjust the spacing and my type frame. I used Adobe Indesign in composing and saved it as high resolution PDF as instructed but I ended up using photoshop converting it to jpeg because I thought I wouldn’t be able to upload PDF here.

symnopic2

symnopic3

serifnopic

asymcow3

asymcow2

sanslay1

Leave a Reply

